Jaren Angud’s master’s degree recital

•April 21, 2014 • Leave a Comment

Jaren Angud's master's degree recital

Jaren Angud with percussion teachers past (Dean Witten, Rowan University, right) and present (Dan C. Armstrong, Penn State University, left)

Mobius Percussion at Rowan University

•December 18, 2013 • Leave a Comment

Mobius Percussion at Rowan University

Rowan alumna Mika Godbole (MM) brought her colleagues from Mobius Percussion to give a performance and discussion for the percussion studio. It was fantastic and a great way to end the fall semester.

Dress rehearsal for Nosferatu

•October 28, 2013 • Leave a Comment

Dress rehearsal for Nosferatu

Live music to accompany the classic horror film performed by the Rowan University Percussion Ensemble directed by Dean Witten, featuring Denis DiBlasio, Jim Ridl, Douglas Mapp and Ray Bohn, 4 bass students and 9 percussion students.

Watch the entire 80 minute performance on our YouTube channel. Look for the link to the right in our Blogroll.

Masterclass with Anthony Orlando of the Philadelphia Orchestra

•October 18, 2013 • Leave a Comment

Masterclass with Anthony Orlando of the Philadelphia Orchestra

Rowan University senior John Vines gets a xylophone coaching from Philadelphia Orchestra percussionist, Anthony Orlando

welcome to the percussion studio

•September 9, 2013 • Leave a Comment

IMG_0439l to r Jonathan Schuman, Nyzaina McDonald, Dylan Cahill, Sal Mazzotta and Tyler Steinbronn paying their freshman/transfer studio entry “dues” as they empty, sweep and mop the percussion storage room.

•August 11, 2013 • Leave a Comment

October 31, 2013

Rowan University Percussion Ensemble will perform F.W. Murnau’s 1922 silent film NOSFERATU: A SYMPHONY OF HORROR. (The very first Dracula movie ever made)  We have a fabulous score commissioned from Mick Rossi to accompany this film. The live performance will feature pianist Jim Ridl, soprano saxophonist Denis DiBlasio, 6 double basses led by Douglas Mapp and 9 percussionists, all conducted by Dean Witten. Performance will begin at 11:00 PM in Pfleeger Concert Hall.
At 10:15, there will be a pre-concert lecture titled “Immortal Beloved” by Rowan Music Professor Dr. Adeline Tomasone. Admission $10, faculty/students free



Greg Goushian, Dean Witten and Erik Marley

•June 6, 2013 • Leave a Comment


Yo’ where’s Vince??????????


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.